Reading in the toilet

Despite being a good multi-tasker I can never understand the appeal of reading while using the toilet. Many people, men in particular, say it helps them concentrate. I am an exception because every time I just want to finish the business and get out of there ASAP.

And what about the materials read? If not washing hands after relieving is unacceptable, then how can we allow those materials to be re-used without sanitisation? Can you complement your afternoon tea with a magazine that has been smoked for half an hour in a toilet?

Apparently, some people can. In the law firm where I had my first job, my colleagues had no problem using the newspaper that my boss had read in toilet as tablecloth. Perhaps the boss was so obnoxious that lunching among his fecal particles paled in comparison with daily dealings with him.

Leave a Reply

