DipTrans 2010

I resat paper 3 of DipTrans on Wednesday. Like last year I didn’t really do any revision, only some last-minute preparation (a long sleep).

Last time I passed the first two papers but failed paper 3. I made the mistake of attempting an unfamiliar field (science), even though law should be the most sensible choice as I would have benefited from my experience in a law firm. I ended up getting some key words wrong and that alone was fatal.

So this time I did the law text, which wasn’t very hard. It discussed, very generally, the proper legal proceedings in criminal prosecution, like the judge should be impartial and no torture must be used to extract confession etc. I had no problem understanding the text. Despite being a semi-specialized text, it didn’t contain too many technical terms, and my legal dictionaries helped a lot.

There were parts that I could have done better, I suppose. I don’t think they were fatal, though of course the examiner may think otherwise. After all, the standards of DipTrans are high. But overall I feel I have a greater chance of passing this time.

Once again I have to endure a long wait for the results, which are expected to arrive in April/May. I’ve been told that a large package means good news, since it contains materials for CIoL membership application, of which passing the DipTrans is a prerequisite. I certainly hope to see my mailbox overflowed.

7 thoughts on “DipTrans 2010

  1. Hey! I’m interested in taking the DipTrans as it is easier to do on your own time than go to a full blown university for a few years. Do you think taking it was worth the money or would you recommend going to a school instead?

    1. Hi Stacey,

      I assume you want to become a translator? Actually you don’t need DipTrans to get a job in translation. At least this is the case in HK. With very few exceptions, people with no experience in translation are likely to find DipTrans very difficult. I think people should not attempt DipTrans unless they’ve already had some experience. It does help your career and make your resume look good, but again it’s not a must.

      1. Seriously? All I have is a bachelor’s in French and I assumed that wasn’t enough. What kind of jobs can you get without prior experience? I think I might be able to the DipTrans if I have enough time to study. I’m very good at French…and even thought about just buying a translation text book and going through it…

        1. A degree in French should do, although without prior experience your choices will likely be limited to beginner positions.

          I suppose you could try looking for an in-house position at a small company. You could also try a junior position at a translation firm. These companies translate a wide range of texts. They’re a good place to get a taste of different specializations and see which one you like. Some international translation houses offer internship/trainee jobs.

          You’re not at a disadvantage to translation graduates. The skills required in a professional translation environment are quite different from those taught by schools or textbooks.

          I don’t think DipTrans is something you can study. The semi-specialized papers, in particular, requires considerable experience of translating texts in those subjects.

          Hope it helps. And sorry for the late reply.

  2. Hi Kevin,
    I just made a google search using DipTrans and found you. I guess you already knew the results, hope you get a good one.
    Janitor

Leave a Reply

