I won’t take the bait

Telescammers are annoying, but sometimes they do spice up the otherwise boring office life:

TS: Hello Sir! Thank you for participating in our survey a while ago. In appreciation of your help, we’re giving you 500 dollars of supermarket coupons!!! Please pick them up at our office at…

Me: I don’t recall having done any survey…

TS: Well that was about a month ago. Perhaps you’ve forgotten. So…

Me: No, I adopt a hang-up-immediately policy for these calls. There’s just no way I could’ve done any survey.

TS: Uh…

Me: So, goodbye.

TS: Wait! I… i… it doesn’t matter. The coupons are yours, just come and pick them up.

Me: Sorry, I don’t have time, gotta work.

TS: How about the weekends?

Me: No time either.

TS: (In a sarcastic tone, throwing her pretended politeness away) Don’t you have to REST?

Me: Of course I have to. That’s exactly why I can’t come.

* * *

I’ve heard too much about these scams on the news. First they call the victim promising gifts. When the victim arrives, they take away his/her ID card for “registration purpose”. Then, they (in groups of 3-4) ask the victim to buy outrageously priced “travel packages”. All the while the ID card is held hostage. They bombard the victim with persuasion for hours, hoping he/she will eventually give in to the pressure and pay. For this reason, university students and professors are favorite targets because they are considered more “timid”.

A recent survey shows some victims paid more than 30,000 dollars before they could get their ID cards back and leave.

Meanwhile, the HK government charges 335 dollars for a replacement.

One thought on “I won’t take the bait

  1. “TS: (In a sarcastic tone, throwing her pretended politeness away) Don’t you have to REST?

    Me: Of course I have to. That’s exactly why I can’t come.”

    Very good response!

Leave a Reply

