Volunfear

Back in Feb I signed up to be a volunteer for the upcoming East Asian Games. Yesterday I got an email telling me that I’ve been assigned to the “Reception & Liaison” division.

The email says nothing my exact position and duties, and I’m still waiting. Considering my qualification, however, I’ll most likely be selected as a translator/interpreter.

If that’s the case, I can imagine while others toil under the scorching sun or have a nerve-breakdown handling impatient crowds, I’ll be sitting in front of a computer and sipping coffee, all in the relative comfort and serenity of an air-conditioned office.

In other words, no change from what I do everyday.

I don’t want that. I volunteered to try different things and meet new people. It’ll be dreadful if I end up translating documents all by myself.

On the other hand, to be an interpreter is a challenge I much look forward to.

I’ve reserved my remaining annual leave days for EAG (which means putting aside all travel plans), and I want this to be worthwhile.

2 thoughts on “Volunfear

  1. I hope they assign you to a position that requires both interpersonal and translation skills? It would be a pity if in the end you do not get to meet new people and are confined to the computer screen….

  2. To me it doesn’t matter if the position is translation-related, though I’d really like to try interpretation. That said, I understand they want experienced people…

Leave a Reply

